Melinda Taylor, Registrar
Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Cynthia Dalessio, Deputy Registrar
Getting Married in New Jersey
The marriage license application is to be made in the New Jersey municipality in which either party resides and the license is valid throughout the State of New Jersey. If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will be performed. In this instance, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality. The marriage license is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year. Once the license is issued, it is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance.
Required documents when applying for a Marriage License:
- Proof of identity such as your driver’s license, passport or state/federal ID
- Proof of your residency
- Your social security card or social security number*
*social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.
Any documents in foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
A local Registrar will not issue a marriage license sooner than 72 hours after the application for a marriage license has been made, unless ordered to do so via an appropriate court order. If the marriage is scheduled for a Saturday or Sunday, the application should be made no later than the preceding Tuesday. If the application is made on a Wednesday or Thursday, 72 hours will end on Saturday or Sunday, but the Registrar will not be available on those days or any public holiday.
If both the Bride and Groom are unavailable to complete the application at the same, time, either applicant may complete his/her part of the application and start the waiting period. The other applicant must return with the same witness (who must be at least 18 years old) to complete his/her part of the application. The application must be completed by both parties before the license will be issued. Once the marriage license is issued, it is good for 30 days from the date of issuance.
- A birth certificate may be requested for proof of age and parentage.
- If one or both applicants are divorced or had a marriage annulled, you should bring a copy of the final decree or decrees for examination by the Registrar or a statement by the judge as to when the final decree was signed (not the date of the final hearing).
- If your former spouse is deceased, please bring a certified copy of the death certificate.
- A witness (18 years of older with valid I.D.) who knows both applicants.
- The $28.00 application fee.
Consent of both parents is necessary if an applicant is under 18 years of age. Both parental consents and judicial approval of such consents are necessary if the applicant is younger than 16.
Requests for Vital Statistics
Vital Statistics is the collection of population information relating to birth records, death records, marriage records, civil unions and domestic partnerships. Marriage, Birth or Death records may be obtained from the Registrar only if the event occurred within the Township.
Requests for Vital Statistics information will not be honored over the phone. All requests must be made via the downloadable Vital Statistics Request Form. Proof of valid identification and address must be submitted with the completed application. If your identification has a previous marriage name, please call the office for further instructions. A completed application, including proof of valid identification (see pop up below) and a money order or certified bank check for all fees that apply may be mailed or physically submitted to the Registrar’s Office.
Certified Copy of Birth Certificate $10.00 (check, cash or money order)
Certified Copy of Marriage Certificate $10.00 (check, cash or money order)
Certified Copy of Death Certificate $8.00 (check, cash or money order)